The Vapers Den

Author Topic: Wick and Wire Help ??  (Read 2757 times)

Offline oopsi82

• Cleverly disguised as a responsible adult
Wick and Wire Help ??
« on: August 01, 2013, 08:37:38 PM »
Allright so im kinda new to vaping, been off analog's and exclusively vaping for a whole month now.  I can Allready see it will be alot cheaper to build my own coil's and  im getting ready to order but im still not sure what size/gauge/ect to order. Right now im not getting into anything real big-- i do have a venus(eternity clone) dripper i will eventually need to re-do, and i plan on probably trying to do the same on vivi nova and a soon to be ordered protank.
So, i know there is ecowool ive heard good things about- and silica.. coming in 1,2,3mm( i think)
and there is the kanthal or ribbon and ive seen come in many gauge's
i just dont know what would be best for me to use, so any suggestions or tips would be gratefully appreciated. Thank you in advance.
Oh yea, Also, If anyone can point me towards the best places for order in US for price and quality 
Thank you again

Offline SamIam

• Vapeologist
  • Location: Intergalactic, planetary...another dimension..another dimension.
  • I'll take a whole lot of lumps!
Re: Wick and Wire Help ??
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2013, 10:04:46 PM »
I'm just posting here so I can follow what all the gurus have to say...im just getting into the wrap your own scene as well  ;D

Offline danwldr

• The Modfather
  • Global Moderator
  • Chief Waffler
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2013, 10:09:01 PM »
2mm  silica and .20 A1 kanthal wire would be a good place to start.
Eko wool works well, but I'm more of a silica guy as I don't think it makes that much of a difference.
Once you get your coiling skillls sorted then you can move on to bigger wicks and wire but thats a good starting point  :)+1
3rd vapersary 23/12/2014

<~~~~~sign or you will suffer dry hits and a crappy battery life

Offline Horseman

• Vapeologist
  • Army Medic 1968-1971